Show All Answers
Please follow these instructions once you have clicked the link above:
Place you mouse on docket sheets and click Court of Common Pleas.Go to the drop down menu under search type and select participant name.Enter last name, last name, date of birth.For County, select Chester County.For docket type, select criminal.Click search.Select the appropriate case(s) from the search results. Then scroll through the pages until you reach the financial information.
For assistance accessing this information, call the Collections Enforcement Unit at 610-344-6290 during regular business hours. Court of Common Pleas System (CPCMS)
.Payments by credit card or debit card can be made in person or online. For online payments, visit http://ujsportal.pacourts.us/.
PROCEDURE:An offender requesting travel permission must inform his/her assigned PO prior to any travel plans being made to gain preliminary permission and to obtain the Temporary International Travel Permit. The PO will review the case to ensure that the offender is in good standing, requesting travel for a legitimate purpose, and if the purpose of the trip is for vacation that all restitution is paid in full and the offender is in compliance with his/her payment plan for fines and costs. The defendant’s attorney is responsible for completing Temporary International Travel Permit and should first contact the Consulate General Office of the destination country to obtain permission to travel. If permission is granted the defendant’s attorney may proceed with seeking the approval and signatures from the DA’s office, the assigned PO and finally the Judge. The document must be filed with Chester County Clerk of Courts at least 10 business days prior to the scheduled date of departure with certified copies distributed to the PO and DA’s office. The offender will notify the PO within 24 hours upon return.
Oxford Area Neighborhood Services35 N. Third StreetOxford, PA 19363Phone: 610-932-8557
Phoenixville Area Community Services257 Church StreetPhoenixville, PA 19460Phone: 610-933-1105
Pennsylvania Department of Health.
Register of Wills
Pennsylvania State Archives Land Records
Be sure to check the Township – Land Record Clippings at that the Chester County Historical Society. You may find a full description of the buildings published with the announcement of the sale.
After an assessment is generated or changed the property owner is mailed a "Change In Assessment" notice. All property owners have the right to appeal if they do not agree with the assessment of their property.
If an appeal is initiated by a school district or municipality, the attorney must provide the Board of Assessment with a copy of a Certificate of Service verifying that the property owner was notified of the appeal within five days of the appeal filing.
For more information, visit http://chesco.org/index.aspx?NID=255.
To obtain desired information:
Applicants must complete a Request for Information Form.Completed forms must be returned to the following address or emailed to OutsideRequests@chesco.org:
Chester County CourthouseAttention: Outside RequestDepartment of Computing and Information Services313 W. Market Street, Suite 5302West Chester, PA 19380-0991 Click Here
Interim Appeal - Appeal of Increase in Assessment due to new construction. The interim assessment represents the value difference (increase) attributable to any assessable improvement to the land and the resulting increase in land value, if any. Assessable improvements include, but are not limited to; new construction of a primary structure (dwelling or other building type), the addition to any such structure and the construction of any ancillary, contributory improvements such as swimming pools, sheds, garages, barns, etc. A property owner filing an interim appeal also has the option to file an annual appeal by August 1. Appeal forms for an interim appeal must be filed within forty (40) days of the date of notification of the assessment change. The appeal date will be noted on the Assessment Change Notice. Any change in the assessment due to an interim appeal is effective commencing with the interim effective date. To file an interim appeal you may download and complete the appeal form or you may contact the Assessment Office at: 610-344-6105, or VISIT the office at: 313 W. Market St, Suite 4202, West Chester, PA 19382.
When the family phisician cannot reach a decision regarding the cause of death within a reasonable degree of medical certainty and thererfore cannot certify the death, the Coroner's Office assumes jurisdiction and begins further investigation.
More information about when a death is reported...
Determine identity of the deceased.
Notify next of kin.
Determine cause and manner of death.
Determine whether or not an autopsy or an inquest should be conducted.
A Coroner’s investigation will always include examination of the deceased, but may or may not include:
- Interviews with family members, doctors and/or witnesses; - Photography of the deceased and/or the scene where death occurred; - Autopsy of the body of the deceased; - Toxicology of the deceased; and, - Possibly collecting and holding any personal property from (or about) the deceased person that the Coroner feels may assist with the determinations.
- Sudden deaths where cause is not recognizable or cannot be certified by a physician based upon recent medical assistance
- Deaths occurring under suspiciaous circumstances (drugs, alcohol, or other toxins)
- Stillbirths, neonatal and maternal deaths
- Deaths of unidentified or unclaimed persons - Deaths in police custody - Deaths related to reportable contagious diseases
- Hospital inpatient deaths occurring from surgery that cannot be explained by prior disease that result from accidental trauma that involve a facture
- Any questionable deaths
- ALL cremations must be authorized by the Coroner's Office.
If the subpoena is from the District Justice Office then you must appear at the District Justice Office on the date and time stated. If you have any questions, you should contact the police department who arrested the defendant.
A woman who is in an abusive situation has several courses of action available to her. If there has been recent abuse, she should go to the local police department where the abuse has been occurring and speak with an officer. The officer can then make a decision whether any criminal action can be taken.
In addition, a victim can contact the Crime Victims Center of Chester County to learn about available counseling options and services. The telephone number is 610-692-7420.
The Domestic Violence Center of Chester County provides services including emergency and transitional shelter and legal representation at Protection From Abuse (PFA) Hearings.
Click PFAfor information on obtaining a Protection From Abuse Order.
Directory of Local Police Departments
Child Abuse Hotline: 800-932-0313 Chester County Detectives: 610-344-6866 Chester County Department of Children Youth & Families: 610-344-5800 Chester County District Attorney’s Office Child Abuse Unit: 610-344-6601 Crime Victim’s Center: 610-692-7273
Click here for more information
To receive basic information concerning the services available for victims of crime; To be notified of certain significant actions and proceedings within the criminal and juvenile justice systems pertaining to their case. This paragraph includes all of the following: Access to information regarding whether the juvenile was detained or released following arrest and whether a petition alleging delinquency has been filed. Immediate notification of a juvenile’s subsequent apprehension. Access to information regarding the grant or denial of bail to an adult. Immediate notification of an adult offender’s pretrial escape from a local correctional facility and of the offender’s subsequent apprehension. To be accompanied at all criminal and all juvenile proceedings in accordance with 42 Pa.C.S. §6336 (relating to conduct of hearings) by a family member, a victim advocate or other person providing assistance or support. In cases involving a personal injury crime or burglary, to submit prior comment to the prosecutor’s office or juvenile probation office, as appropriate to the circumstances of the case, on the potential reduction or dropping of any charge or changing of a plea in a criminal or delinquency proceeding or diversion of any case, including an informal adjustment or consent decree. To have opportunity to offer prior comment on the sentencing of a defendant or the disposition of a delinquent child, to include the submission of a written and oral victim impact statement detailing the physical, psychological and economic effects of the crime on the victim and the victim’s family. The written statement shall be included in any predisposition or pre-sentence report submitted to the court. Victim impact statements shall be considered by a court when determining the disposition of a juvenile or sentence of an adult. 5.1 To have notice and to provide prior comment on a judicial recommendation that the defendant participate in a motivational boot camp pursuant to the act of December 19, 1990 (P.L. 1391, No.215), known as the Motivational Boot Camp Act. 5.2 Upon request of the victim of a personal injury crime, to have the opportunity to submit written comment or present oral testimony at a disposition review hearing, which comment or testimony shall be considered by the court when reviewing the disposition of the juvenile.
To be restored, to the extent possible, to the pre-crime economic status through he provision of restitution, compensation and the expeditious return of property which is seized as evidence in the case when in the judgment of the prosecutor the evidence is no longer needed for prosecution of the case. In personal injury crimes where the adult is sentenced to a State correctional facility, to be: given the opportunity to provide prior comment on and receive State post-sentencing release decision, including work release, furlough, parole, pardon or community treatment center placement; and provide immediate notice of an escape of the adult and of subsequent apprehension; and given the opportunity to receive notice of and to provide prior comment on a recommendation sought by the Department of Corrections that the offender participate in a motivational boot camp pursuant to the Motivational Boot Camp Act. In personal injury crimes where the adult is sentenced to a local correctional facility, to : receive notice of the date of the release of the adult, including work release, furlough, parole, release from a boot camp or community treatment center placement; and be provided with immediate notice of an escape of the adult and of subsequent apprehension. 8.1 If, upon the request of the victim of a personal injury crime committed by a juvenile, the juvenile is ordered to residential placement, a shelter facility or a detention center, to: receive prior notice of the date of the release of the juvenile, including temporary leave or home pass; be provided with: immediate notice of an escape of the juvenile, including failure to return from temporary leave or home pass; and immediate notice of re-apprehension of the juvenile. be provided with notice of transfer of a juvenile who has been adjudicated delinquent from a placement facility that is contrary to a previous court order or placement plan approved at a disposition review hearing and to have the opportunity to express a written objection prior to the release or transfer of the juvenile.
If the adult is subject to an order under 23 Ps.C.S. Ch 61 (relating to protection from abuse) and is committed to a local correctional facility for a violation of the order or for a personal injury crime against a victim protected by the order, to receive immediate notice of the release of the adult on bail. To receive notice if an adult is committed to a mental health facility from a State correctional institution and notice of the discharge, transfer or escape of the adult from the mental health facility. To have assistance in the preparation of, submission of and follow-up on financial assistance claims to the bureau. To be notified of the details of the final disposition of the case of a juvenile consistent with 42 Pa.C.S. § 6336(f) (relating to conduct of hearings) Upon the request of the victim of a personal injury crime, to be notified of the termination of the courts’ jurisdiction.
Please review the Bad Checks Statute before filing your complaint.
§4105 Bad Checks
There are times when these situations may rise to the level of criminal actions. If the individual took your money and never intended to perform any work of if the individual was deceptive in his business practices, criminal charges may be appropriate. If you believe your situation may rise to the level of criminal actions, you should report the event to your local police department for their review.
AFTER BUSINESS HOURS: To obtain a PFA after 4:30 p.m. on a business day, on the weekend, or on a day in which the Chester County Courthouse is closed, the victim must go to the on-call district justice for an Emergency PFA. The victim should call his or her local police department to find out who is the district justice on-call. The Emergency PFA is only valid through the close of the next business day. For example, if a victim obtains an Emergency PFA on a Friday evening, that PFA is only valid through Monday at 4:30 p.m.
ASSISTANCE: The Chester County Crime Victims’ Center and the Chester County Domestic Violence Center are available to assist victims filing a PFA Petition and for court accompaniment.
The Chester County Crime Victims’ Center may be reached twenty-four hours a day at 610-692-7420.
The Chester County Domestic Violence Center may be reached at 610-431-1431, Monday to Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
If criminal charges have already been filed in your case and you are concerned about the delay between arrest and court proceedings, call the District Attorney’s Office and ask to speak to the Assistant District Attorney who is assigned to your case.
If you are only seeking to file a criminal summary offense charge against someone, the District Justice Office may process your private criminal complaint and you do not need the approval of the District Attorney’s Office. The most common summary offense charges are Harassment and Disorderly Conduct.
The criminal statutes defining each of these crimes appear by clicking these buttons:
§5503 Disorderly Conduct §2709 Harassment & Stalking
§9122 Expungement If you were convicted of a crime as an adult (age 18 or over), under most circumstances, the record of your conviction may not be expunged.
Different rules apply if you were convicted (adjudicated) in the juvenile justice system:
§9123 Juvenile Records However, you may apply for a pardon with the Board of Pardons, their website explains how to apply for a pardon http://sites.state.pa.us/PA_Exec/BOP/.
If a person lives in another county or state, similar help should be available there. You can call the Information and Referral Line at 866-286-3767 or 610-363-6164 to find out where to call in their area. You can also utilize the following website to locate services: https://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/locator/home
If the person has private (commercial) insurance:
• To obtain an assessment you can either: -Call the toll free number for substance abuse services on the back of the insurance card (it may also be called “Behavioral Health” services). They will tell you where you can go for an assessment.
-You can also call a drug and alcohol treatment program directly – If you do ask:
-Do you accept my insurance?
-What does the program need from the insured in order to begin the referral process?
If the person has Veteran’s benefits:
Call the Veteran’s Administration and asks where someone can go to get an assessment and help for a drug and/or alcohol problem.Coatesville VA (610) 384-7711 Lebanon VA (717) 272-6621Philadelphia VA (800) 949-1001 Wilkes Barre VA (570) 824-3521
If the person does not have insurance orIf the person is covered by the Medical Assistance Managed Care Program (Healthchoices):
Call one of the following agencies for an assessment. People usually pick the one closest to where they live but can go to any one. The first session will be free. A fee for ongoing services may be determined using a sliding fee scale, based upon an individual’s income.
• Holcomb Associates, Inc., Kennett Square (610) 388-9225• Gaudenzia, Inc., Outpatient West Chester (610) 429-1414• Creative Health Services, Phoenixville (610) 933-1223• Gaudenzia, Inc., Coatesville (610) 383-9600• Center for Addictive Diseases (CAD), Exton (484) 565-1130
Depending on what the counselor recommends, the person might start treatment at that agency or be referred to another agency that has the type of treatment that is needed.
If you have access to a computer with an internet connection you can also find information at Chester County ReferWeb. This website has information about drug and alcohol and many other services.
For information on all licensed treatment providers in Chester County you can utilize the following website: http://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/about.htm
The climatology in western Chester County is quite different compared to the eastern part of the county, which means the weather can be a lot different too. For instance, during the winter months, the western portions of the county can receive a lot more snow than the eastern sections. When this situation arises, we can now issue a warning just for the western portion of the county if we think snow will be heavier there than in the east. This holds true for other types of hazardous weather as well, such as excessive heat, where the more urban areas in the eastern section of the county experience higher temperatures than in the west. Population density also plays a role because the effects of hazardous weather become more problematic as the number of people affected increases.
Lawyer Referral Service Phone:610-429-1500 Legal Aid/Access to Justice Phone: 1-877-429-5994 (Monday to Friday, 9 a.m.-1 p.m.)
Human Services, Inc.330 West Market StreetWest Chester, PA 19380610-429-3033
La Comunidad Hispana731 West Cypress StreetKennett Square, PA 19348610-444-7550
Maternal and Child Health Consortium (MCHC)1001 East Lincoln HighwayCoatesville, PA 19320484-378-4030
Oxford Area Neighborhood Services35 North Third StreetOxford, PA 19363610-932-8557
Phoenixville Area Community Services257 Church StreetPhoenixville, PA 19460610-933-1105
You may also go to http://www.referweb.net/chesco/. Use the category “Clothing/Food/Personal Goods/Services” and the subcategory “Food” to search for programs in your area.
Chester County Information and Referral Providers
You may also go to http://www.referweb.net/chesco and use the Refer Web Information and Referral Database. Use the category “Family/Community Services” and the subcategory “Donor Services” to search for programs in your area.
This list is not all-inclusive. You can go to http://www.referweb.net/chesco/ and use the ReferWeb Information and Referral Database if you cannot find the hotline number you are looking for.
http://www.state.pa.us : Pennsylvania Power Port gives information and links to various online Government services and programs. Driver’s license and registration services, requesting copies of birth and death certificates, and submitting applications for hunting and fishing licenses are some of the more commonly used services on this website.
www.referweb.net : Chester County Health and Human Services online Resource Directory
www.govbenefits.gov : Gives information about Government benefit eligibility and application.
www.dhs.state.pa.us : Gives information about the PA Department of Human Services (formerly the Dept. of Public Welfare).
www.compass.state.pa.us : Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Access to Social Services. Allows individuals and community based organizations to screen, to apply, and to renew a broad range of social services provided through the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
pacareerlink.state.pa.us : Pennsylvania Career Link is a cooperative effort to provide one-stop delivery of career services to job seekers, employers and other interested individuals. These services are also available at the following Chester County locations:
Chester County CareerLink OfficeOaklands Corporate Center479 Thomas Jones Way, Suite 500Exton, PA, 19341610-280-1010
1003 East Lincoln HighwayCoatesville, PA 19320 www.connectpoints.org
Legal Aid of Chester County222 North Walnut Street, 2nd FloorWest Chester, PA 193801-877-429-5994
Legal Aid of Southeast PennsylvaniaHelpline: 9:00 AM-1:00 PM, Monday-Friday1-877-429-5994
La Comunidad Hispana731 West Cypress StreetKennett Square, PA, 19348610-444-7550
You may also go to http://www.referweb.net/chesco/ and use the Refer Web Information and Referral Database. Use the category “Legal Services/Immigration” and the subcategory “Tenant/Landlord Services”.
Selection of a Jury Opening Statements Plaintiff’s attorney (or prosecuting/Commonwealth’s attorney for a criminal case) Defendant’s attorney Testimony of Witnesses and Presentation of Evidence Plaintiff’s attorney (or prosecuting/Commonwealth’s attorney for a criminal case) Direct examination of plaintiff’s witnesses by plaintiff’s attorney Cross-examination of plaintiff’s witnesses by defendant’s attorney Redirect examination of plaintiff’s witnesses by plaintiff’s attorney Defendant’s attorney Direct examination of defendant’s witnesses by defendant’s attorney Cross-examination of defendant’s witnesses by plaintiff’s attorney Redirect examination of defendant’s witnesses by defendant’s attorney Selection and Preparation of Jury Instructions Jury Instructions Presented to the Jury Closing Arguments Plaintiff’s attorney (or prosecuting/Commonwealth’s attorney for a criminal case)Defendant’s attorney Plaintiff’s attorney (or prosecuting/Commonwealth’s attorney) to close the case Jury Deliberations Verdict of the Jury
Do NOT wear: shorts; tank tops; tight or revealing clothing; pants that hang down and expose your underwear; clothing with drug, gun, or gang references; or ripped or torn clothing.
The certification is signed by the Assistant Clerk of the Orphans' Court. In some instances, for example, Foreign Registration of the Marriage or Foreign Adoptions, the certification must be signed by the Elected Clerk of the Orphans' Court and the Court. You must determine which type of certification is needed. Refer to the section on Marriage Records for a Foreign Country for more details.
A form for requesting certified marriage records is available in the Forms and Documents section. Walk-in requests are processed immediately. Please allow 7 to 10 working days for processing of mail-in requests. All requests require the following information:
Name of male applicant Name of female applicant at the time of application Date of Marriage Daytime Telephone number for all mail-in requests $15.00 fee payable with Cash, Credit Card, or Money Order ONLY. Please do NOT mail cash. Make money order payable to "Clerk of the Orphans' Court." If the request is by mail, a self-addressed, stamped envelope must be enclosed for the return of the Certification. Mail the request to: Marriage License Department, Chester County Justice Center, 201 W. Market Street, Suite 2200 PO Box 2746, West Chester, PA 19380.
You can find additional tips at California Registry.
Diamond Rock Wildlife Rehabilitation, Malvern, 610-240-0883, www.diamondrockwildlife.org
AARK Wildlife Rehabilitation, Chalfont, 215-249-1938, www.aark.org
Main Line Wildlife Rehabilitation, Ardmore, 610-649-0117
Schuylkill Wildlife Rehabilitation Clinic, Roxborough, 215-482-8217, www.schuylkillcenter.org/departments/wildlife
Tri-State Bird Rescue, Newark, 302-737-9543, www.tristatebird.org
White Flicker Wild Bird Rehabilitation, Ambler, 215-643-1263, www.whiteflicker.org
Pennsylvania Game Commission, 610-926-3136
General Hunting permits are also issued to licensed hunters at undeveloped open space that includes the Linfield and Sanatoga Basins, the McGrail Property and Hatfield Property. Contact Warwick Park at 610-469-1916 for information on the Basins, and Hibernia Park at 610-383-3812 for information on the other two open space sites. Hunting Information
Equestrian use is presently permitted on the Schuylkill River Trail (SRT), because it is unpaved, and does not have the high degree of pedestrian and bicycle use that Struble and Chester Valley Trails have. In general, the County’s regional trails are off-limits to equestrian use due to the potential conflicts associated with large numbers of users (joggers and cyclists) and the excessive wear and damage that regular horseshoes can cause to paved, macadam trail surfaces.
The following are prohibited uses: Motorized vehicles including motor vehicles, segueways, motorcycles and mopeds, powered scooters and snowmobiles (excluding authorized vehicles). Skateboards; equestrian use, including horseback riding, horse with carriage, pony carts, etc.
The fee for an expedited passport is and additional $60 (for a total of $170) and takes a minimum of 2-3 weeks. If a passport is needed within 14 days you must appear in person at the US Customs House in Philadelphia by appointment only. Call 1-877-487-2778 for an appointment.
2. Naturalization certificate if you became a naturalized citizen.
3. Valid drivers license. Parents ID will be used for minors who do not drive.
4. Two 2” x 2” identical photographs. Photographs may be taken at the Sheriff’s Office, located at the same address, for a fee of $10 payable by check or money order. School photos are not acceptable.
Information required on the form: your social security number, parent’s birthdate and birthplace, current or previous marriage information.
If one parent or guardian cannot be present, a statement of consent form (#DS3053), or a comparable written statement, must be presented at the time of applying and must be notarized within 90 days of the application. Please be sure to include a front and back copy of the non-appearing parent's ID. It must be the same ID the parent used to notarize the documentation. All minor children age 15 years and younger that had a previous passport are required to bring both the expired passport and the long form birth certificate.
You do not need to include the resident's room number.
Medicaid is a joint Federal and State program that will pay for care in a long-term care setting if the resident does not have the financial means to be able to cover the cost of care. The Medicaid applicant must be medically eligible and meet financial criteria.
The PFA Act does not cover abuse by a stranger or a roommate that the victim is not intimately involved with.
Even though each county is different, the legal process follows the same general pattern. The PFA process usually starts by filling out a form called a "petition" at the local county courthouse. The questions in the petition ask victims to explain why they want protection and to describe the abuse they suffered. In legal terms, the person who wants the PFA is called the "petitioner" or the "plaintiff". ThePFA petition also asks the petitioner to tell what they want the PFA to do. Usually, there are employees at the courthouse who can help to complete PFA petitions, and give information about free or low-cost legal services in the county or region. The PFA Act says that courthouse information and assistance to PFA petitioners should be provided in both English and Spanish.
After the petition is filled out, a judge will read it and may ask the plaintiff to answer a few questions. The abuser will not usually be present in the court for this. The judge may grant or deny a temporary PFA order and will schedule a date for a final hearing. A temporary PFA order will protect a victim and/or children until the date of the final hearing. This hearing will take place within 10 business days.Even if the judge does not grant a temporary protection order, the judge will schedule a final order hearing.
On the date of the PFA hearing, the plaintiff/victim and defendant/abuser will come before a judge. Both are allowed to have attorneys to represent them at this hearing. A domestic violence advocate may also come with the victim. If both the plaintiff and defendant agree on the terms of an order, the judge will make it official. If either does not agree, the judge will give the victim and abuser the chance to talk on the record about the abuse described in the petition.
After listening to the testimony, the judge may grant the plaintiff a final PFA order. Final orders can be in place for any period of time up to and including 3 years.
Always keep a copy of the PFA with you. If there are minor children protected by the PFA provide a copy to the children's school or daycare center. You may also give a copy to your employer if you so choose.
A defendant who violates a PFA order can be arrested and charged with a crime called indirect criminal contempt. The victim may be asked to testify about the violation at a court hearing. If the court finds the defendant guilty of violating the PFA order, the court can give jail time, probation, and/or fines. Even though the police may arrest and charge an abuser for indirect criminal contempt, the abuser may be released before the hearing. Victims should consider talking to a domestic violence advocate about steps to take to stay safe.
A plaintiff who has a PFA order does not have to register it in a different county or state for it to be valid, but registering it with the local courthouse may be helpful. On the plus side, registering an order allows police to quickly verify the order and respond faster to if an abuser violates it. On the downside, some states will notify the defendant when the victim registers a PFA order in a new county or state. If thevictim does not want an abuser to know where they are, they may not want to register the PFA. Procedures for registering a PFA order vary from state to state.
It is good for a victim to have a certified copy of the order along at all times, especially if a victim decides not to register a PFA order after moving. (A certified copy is one that is stamped with a raised seal and initialed by the court.) It is also a good idea to have multiple copies of the order for work, home, and/or school.
A domestic violence advocate can help victims with many services. They may be able to help victims fill out a PFA petition or go with the victim to court. Advocates can give victims information about the county PFA process and help victims to make a safety plan.
What a victim says to a domestic violence program advocate is confidential. By law, an advocate cannot repeat what victims tell them, even if called into court by a judge. The only exception is that the advocate must report it if the victim reveals that a child is in danger of being abused. Confidentiality between victims and advocates means that victims can speak freely about their circumstances and planfor their future safety.
Whether a plaintiff wishes to file a PSV or a PFI depends on the facts of the case.
A plaintiff files a PSV when the plaintiff has been a victim of sexual violence. Sexual violence is conduct between persons who are not family members that includes: sexual offenses, endangering the welfare of children, corruption of minors, sexual abuse of children, and unlawful contact with minors and sexual exploitation of children.
A plaintiff files a PFI when the plaintiff is a victim of harassment or stalking AND the conduct is committed by a person over 18 against a person under 18.
Even though each county is different, the legal process follows the same general pattern. The PSVI process usually starts by filling out a form called a "petition" at the local county courthouse. The questions in the petition ask victims to explain why they want protection and to describe the abuse they suffered. In legal terms, the person who wants the PSVI is called the "petitioner" or the "plaintiff". ThePSVI petition also asks the petitioner to tell what they want the PSVI to do. The PSVI Act says that courthouse information and assistance to PSVI petitioners should be provided in both English and Spanish.
After the petition is filled out, a judge will read it and may ask the plaintiff to answer a few questions. The abuser will not usually be present in the court for this. The judge may grant or deny a temporary PSVI order and will schedule a date for a final hearing. A temporary PSVI order will protect a victim and/or children until the date of the final hearing. This hearing will take place within 10 business days. Even if the judge does not grant a temporary protection order, the judge will schedule a final order hearing.
On the date of the PSVI hearing, the plaintiff/victim and defendant/abuser will come before a judge.Both are allowed to have attorneys to represent them at this hearing. If both the plaintiff and defendant agree on the terms of an order, the judge will make it official. If either does not agree, the judge will give the victim and abuser the chance to talk on the record about the abuse described in the petition.
After listening to the testimony, the judge may grant the plaintiff a final PSVI order. Final orders can be in place for any period of time up to and including 3 years.
Always keep a copy of the PSVI with you. If there are minor children protected by the PSVI provide a copy to the children's school or daycare center. You may also give a copy to your employer if you so choose.
A defendant who violates a PSVI order can be arrested and charged with a crime called indirect criminal contempt. The victim may be asked to testify about the violation at a court hearing. If the court finds the defendant guilty of violating the PSVI order, the court can give jail time, probation, and/or fines.
Even though the police may arrest and charge an abuser for indirect criminal contempt, the abuser may be released before the hearing.
It is important for victims to have their certified PSVI orders with them whenever they are traveling. A certified copy is stamped "Certified" in red with a raised seal and initialed by the court.
It is also a good idea to have multiple copies of the order for work, home, and/or school.
The Clerk of the Orphans’ Court, acting as a conduit for the Court, accepts filings for Orphans’ Court matters. The Court, in accordance with Federal, State and Local rules and statutes, determines the correctness of the filings.
The Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans’ Court have prepared the information provided on this website. Nothing contained herein is intended to be legal advice or to offer any opinion of the legal remedies available or appropriate in any particular circumstance. It is hoped that the information presented will merely be useful in answering frequently asked questions concerning the Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans’ Court.
Please Note: You will forfeit the 10% hand money deposit if you do not pay the balance of the purchase price by the 21-day deadline.
Pay online at: Departments - Tax Claim Bureau - Credit Card & E-Check Payments
FedEx / UPS
Chester County Treasurer 313 West Market Street- Suite 3202 West Chester PA 19382
- or -
Regular Mail (USPS)
Chester County TreasurerPO Box 2748West Chester PA 19380 Inclusion of the P.O. Box allows the Post Office to identify us by the box number. If only the street address is given, mail will still be delivered to the office.
PLEASE MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO: CHESTER COUNTY TREASURER
Case 1 (Electronically Billed):
If the property owner has a mortgage, and the mortgage company (or a tax service company working on behalf of the mortgage company) has arranged for electronic billing, then the bank/mortgage company/service company receives the bill electronically. The property owner's payment is normally through escrowed funds withheld during the mortgage payment process. The property owner does not receive a copy of the bill.
Case 2 (tax bill is mailed directly to the property owner):
The tax bill is sent to the property owner, who is then responsible for sending the bill to the mortgage company for payment.
Remember, the ultimate responsibility for payment of the real estate tax in Chester County rests with the property owner even though they may not have received their tax bill.
Note: If there has been a change of address, and this is causing your tax bill to be mailed to an incorrect address, the property owner must contact the County Assessment Office to complete the required forms to change the mailing address. Also, it is the responsibility of the property owner to contact the Treasurer's Office in order to notify us of this change so that the tax bill can then be mailed to the correct address.
Municipalities Collected By Chester County Treasurer:(District # : Name)
01 - West Chester 06 – Oxford 07 – Atglen 09 – South Coatesville 10 – Modena 12 - Honey Brook Borough 28 - West Caln Twp 29 – West Brandywine Twp 34 - West Pikeland Twp 35 – Charlestown Twp 47 - East Fallowfield Twp 51 – East Bradford Twp 54 – Willistown Twp 55 - Easttown Twp 58 - Penn Twp 60 – New Garden Twp 63 – Pocopson Twp 72 - Franklin Twp
Depending on the size or class of the county and the intended use of the collected revenue, some counties may apply a higher tax rate. In Chester County all but 4% of collected hotel tax dollars is paid over to the Chester County Convention and Visitor’s Bureau (see link below). The intended purpose is to provide the CCCVB with enough funding to allow them to market Chester County in a highly competitive tourism market. The process is cyclical in nature. That is, we generate revenue through taxes from transients in order to successfully promote our community to those we hope will return again.
One half of all proceeds are used to fund a grant program administered by the CCCVB. For information about the grant program (how it is used and who qualifies) contact the CCCVB. Chester County Convention and Visitor’s Bureau
Treasurer - License Applications and Forms
Senior Citizens: Those 65 or older (at the time of application) qualify for a discount rate; be sure to include your complete birth date on the application. Proof of age is not required with a signed application.
Disabled Citizens: Those who provide proof of a disability are eligible for a discount rate. Acceptable forms of disability include a copy of a "letter of award" of Social Security benefits, a copy of a "wallet card" for a parking placard, or a letter from a physician.
Also, please check www.palostdogs.com to see if the dog is listed as missing. This is a free site where you can list lost dogs to help reunite with an owner, or post as the owner if your dog is missing. Chester County SPCA
Chester County Veterans Affairs601 Westtown Rd, West Chester, PACall for an appointment 610-344-6375Hours 8:30am-4:30pm
Coatesville Veterans Administration Medical Center Bldg 8 VAVS Resource RM B14 A, Coatesville , PAHours 9:00-2:00 M-F By appointment only call 610-384-7711 or 800-290-6172 Ext 4239
Veterans Administration Out-PatientSpring City, PA
Other Relevant Medical Records - Medical records to substantiate any and all treatment by private doctors and hospitals.
Dependency Documents - Original or copies of birth and marriage certificates and copies of divorce/death record terminating all of your prior marriages and those of your spouse.
Military Discharge/DD Form 214 - (Copy 4 - Member Copy) Those applicants who have a copy of their DD-214 are encouraged to provide a copy with their claim to expedite processing. Otherwise, VA will attempt to obtain verification from the service department.
Periods of War:WWII - 12/07/41 to 12/31/46 Korea - 06/27/50 to 01/31/55Vietnam - 08/05/64 to 05/07/75 (if “in country” 02/28/61 to 08/04/64)Dessert Storm/Gulf Wars - 08/02/1990 to present
Visit http://www.benefits.gov/benefits/benefit-details/284 for more information.
First, contact the Revenue Coordinator at the VA health care facility and request a waiver from paying your current debt. This requires sufficient proof of financial hardship that prevents you from paying the VA.
Second, contact the Enrollment Coordinator to request a hardship determination to avoid medical care copay charges. This determination is also based on financial need. If you are approved for a hardship determination, your copay status will change and your enrollment priority will improve.
Third, contact the Revenue Coordinator to request an Offer in Compromise, which is applicable to past debts for medical services. If the VA accepts the offer to compromise, a partial payment of the balance owed is settlement of the entire debt. This requires proof of inability to pay the entire amount of the debt due.
To request a catastrophic disability evaluation, contact the Enrollment Coordinator at your local VA health care facility. VA will make every effort to schedule your evaluation within 35 days of request. There is no charge for the Catastrophic Disability evaluation.If it is determined by a VA health care provider that you are Catastrophically Disabled, your priority group assignment will be upgraded to Priority Group 4.
Active Duty or Service Connected Death - $2,000 is available if the veteran died during active duty, or if an honorably discharged veteran died of a service-connected injury.
Burial Plot Allowance - $300 is available for an honorably discharged veteran not interred in a cemetery that is under the jurisdiction of the US government if the veteran was receiving a pension or disability benefits from the VA at the time of death or if the death occurred in a VA hospital, or VA contracted health care facility.
Transportation Allowance - Transportation allowance will be reimbursed by the VA for transportation expenses from the place of death to the funeral home and to the cemetery for a veteran who died in a VA hospital, or VA contracted health care facility.
US flag - An honorably discharged veteran is entitled to a US flag provided by the Veterans Administration. The American flag is used to drape casket of veteran, after which it may be given to next of kin, close friend or associate of the deceased.
Headstone or Marker - A headstone or grave marker is provided without charge and shipped at Government expense to the consignee designated to mark the burial site of eligible veterans. The cost of placing the marker in a private cemetery must be borne by the applicant. Applicants are cautioned to ensure the correctness of all information. In a National Cemetery, a veteran, spouse and dependent children receive a free headstone. We suggest that if burial will be in a private cemetery and a Government headstone or marker will be requested for the veteran’s grave, that the family complete VA Form 40-1330, Application for Standard Government Headstone or Marker in advance and place it with the veterans military discharge papers for use at the time of need.
Burial in a National Cemetery - Burial is available at all VA national cemeteries to any deceased veteran of wartime or peacetime service (other than for training) who was discharged under conditions other than dishonorable. Members of the Reserve and the Army and Air National Guard who die while performing or as a result of performing active duty for training may also be eligible. A deceased veteran who had entered active duty as an enlisted person after September 7, 1980. Also, any deceased veteran who has entered active duty after October 16, 1981. Said veteran must have had minimum active duty of 24 months, or the period for which he/she was called to active duty, or have had a hardship discharge, or a service-connected disability. Burial is also available to an eligible veteran's spouse minor child(ren) and, under certain conditions, to unmarried adult children. Headstones and markers are provided for the gravesites of those interred in national cemeteries. No application is required. Gravesites in (VA) national cemeteries cannot be reserved in advance. Families are encouraged to prepare in advance by discussing cemetery options, collecting the veteran’s military information including discharge papers, and by contacting the cemetery where burial is desired.